A good article by The Heavy Metal GM that makes you look closely at the Success vs Failure rate of the FFG Star Wars RPG System

My thoughts: I play a Star Wars campaign currently and it seems to happen often where players fail with Advantage. But these failures continue to happen often for things that should be statistically easier to achieve. Don’t get me wrong, I love the game and embrace failure, but some might not as much as me. Losing on a tie for players can be a downer.  As a rule variant that fits the narrative of the Star Wars Universe I offer you this:

“The Force Flows Through All Of Us” Variant

When there is a tie where the Success and Failures cancel each other out. Roll the Neutral Force Die to determine if you succeed or fail.  (This has nothing to do with the Force User mechanics of rolling the Force Die, just settling ties.)

White Pip = The Force is With You (Success)

Black Pip = The Force was “Busy” elsewhere lol (Failure)


 

The Heavy Metal GM

Recently I ran Fantasy Flight Games’ Star Wars: Edge of the Empire. It was not my first time using FFG’s dice system, but it was my first time GMing a game within that system. Nearly needless to say, it was a little clunky for multiple reasons; The group I got together was a bit of a last minute one, it had been over 5 months since I had last played this system, I didn’t have a grasp of the rules in order to run it smoothly, I had only read the first 5 pages of the adventure I was running, the list goes on.

Miraculously, we all had a blast playing through the first two “Episodes” of Under a Black Sun, an adventure you can get for free on Fantasy Flight’s website. We used the pregens you could get in the same location, but having only three players, we…

View original post 593 more words

Leave a Reply

